Fly in the Window Part II

It’s the next day and the fly is dead. It didn’t take long.

I had forgotten about it. I was looking out the window in the morning and I glanced down. The fly was lying on its’ back dead and stiff.

I left it there and didn’t think about it until dinner time. 

I was getting everything ready and I paused to look out the window. The fly was still there of course lying between the window and the outdoor screen but it was no longer alone.

Its’ body was being swarmed by small brown ants. The ants formed a circle with the dead fly in the middle. They were trying to drag it towards a small crack that I’d never noticed in the screen frame.

The combination of their bodies and the dead fly formed a corona of death there on the window sill between the window and the outdoor screen. 

Leave a Reply

