Let us go and make our visit…

Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock
-T.S. Elliot

 

Let us go then, you and I,
When the evening is spread out against the sky
Like a patient etherised upon a table;
Let us go, through certain half-deserted streets,
The muttering retreats
Of restless nights in one-night cheap hotels
And sawdust restaurants with oyster-shells:
Streets that follow like a tedious argument
Of insidious intent
To lead you to an overwhelming question…
Oh, do not ask, ‘What is it?’
Let us go and make our visit.

95 thoughts on “Let us go and make our visit…

  1. When I was growing up, my father would always say "let us go then, you and I, when the evening is spread out against the sky" and I just thought he was weird – I had no idea he was quoting T.S. Elliot (how\’d he get such a dumb kid?) 🙂

    Like

  2. Greetings. This is Your Capt speaking.Thanks for stopping by my little place but I don\’t think you should follow large White Rabbits anymore. I don\’t think it\’s safe. The Knight told me that. Of course he was talking backwards at the time so I could be wrong. Nice site you have here, too. You write well. Best I can do wouldn\’t make it to a box of Cheerios but what can you do? Have a great day.Your CaptPresident of the "Save The Texas Prairie Chicken" Foundation

    Like

  3. hi, just returning your visit! LOL thanks for your commentnice space, i think i was here once before, wish i stayed longer… very good read!have a good oneJules 🙂

    Like

  4. Thanks for stopping by my space. I don\’t blog much but am trying and hope to see you back again soon. Yes, I still have my cajones. I traded them for her Thigh-Master and her collection of "Little House On The Prairie" VHS tapes. I look forward to your future writings here and comments in mine. I don\’t normally have tea around but for you I will stock up. Affraid I haven\’t got a clue what \’peek freans\’ are though. Do I find them at a market or a hardware store? I can see me asking for them now:"Excuse me, sir, but I think I broke the frean on my Camaro""Drivers side or passenger side?""Drivers side""Well then, you\’ll need the \’peek\’ frean"Hope you have a great day and will look in later.Your CaptAuthor of "Sightseeing In Parma" guidebook

    Like

  5. Ok, I got the link and now know that peek freans are some kind of cookie. I\’ll be sure and have some of those handy, too. Still not sure where I\’ll get them from. Who knows, maybe the hardware store does have them. Take care.Your CaptHead Chef, Kraft Kitchens, Peek Frean Dept.

    Like

  6. Your comment is really nice! thank you, you\’re so sweet and your website as well.. Seems that you love nature so much.. that\’s pretty good, I think I\’ll come here again to read all your blogs carefully 😉 it\’s 3:15 am now so I must go to sleep, wait for you soon! -may 美菊

    Like

  7. Just stopping by to check out those who have signed my guestbook….. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by. De-Lovely was an awesome movie. I never knew that Cole Porter was gay…. hmmmmm…. Oh well, there\’s nothing wrong with that.

    Like

  8. …..oooO…………………. (……)… Oooo………….)…/. …(…..)…………..(_/…….)…/…………………… (_/…………..just passing through……oooO………………….. (……)… Oooo…………..)…/. …(…..)………. …..(_/…….)…/…………………….. (_/……………………………………..I love your space>>very earthy!cheerschristine

    Like

  9. Hi, thanks for stopping by and taking the time to tell a story. I love reading those. Your space is really nice. I enjoy the calming colors. take care

    Like

  10. @Just LisaIsn\’t that just an absolutely lovely poem. It is so full of expectation and desire for the world in all its naked glory. I adore it.

    Like

  11. Ashamedly, I had visited your site once before and enjoyed having a look around but had not left you a guestbook greeting. Then you show me with all grace a courtesy which I do not deserve; you return my visit and leave a generous and relevant calling card in my guestbook. Thank you so much for stopping by, and for that wonderfully written entry "The Scout". You are a very good writer and have a real knack with imagery, and you have a fantastic set of nature photos. Have you thought of putting together a short book on the goings on of the tiny creatures that share our spaces? And, may I suggest a name of this drama: "The Small and the Restless"?Anyway, thanks for the Army of Darkness reference, its great to meet others who have been touched (and I use this here in the same meaning as "special" is sometimes used) by this cult classic. :)Have an awesome day.

    Like

  12. My goodness Simon, but you do make me blush. You are so courtly, even after I called myself "a primitive screwhead". Lovely title for a little book by the way…maybe a winter project. As you can see by the photograph in "The Scout" things are still jumping around here.Regards,L;)

    Like

  13. I was touched by your comment:"The heart of a child is a precious thing. It is brave and true and pure. They are perfect. It is the world that is flawed."on a blog entry about the six year old who saved children in New Orleans.thanks for reminder…Merle in VA

    Like

  14. Hi Lorna, thank you for the comment you gave… God bless you and everything you stand for…. I suppected the dream was an obstacle, but the obstacles as I can see are two women, (don\’t know, just guessing)…. You seem like a very deep and spiritual woman, please put me in your prayers and I will remember you in mine.. Thank you once again… It was a relieve reading from you… Lots of Love …. Cindy xx….

    Like

  15. Howdy! I was a tad surprised to see your visit show up and very happy to receive your comment. The reason for the surprise…I see your name show up, and hear about you quite often from my good buddy….The Toad! Drop by anytime and please leave your thoughts and opinions. Brutus

    Like

  16. Hey, thanks for the nice, kind, comment. It felt good to read it. My Dad finally agreed to be taken to the hospital, it turned out to be a serious kidney infection and possible lung infection. His biggest problem was severe dehydration. Hopefully, he is on the road to recovery. Thanks again. Brutus

    Like

  17. Hello! Just surfin\’ on through and thought I\’d stop off for a rest. Signing your guestbook too! Hope you have a terrific weekend and be blessed!

    Like

  18. ~~For a special friend an a special space…….. Dear Friend… Happiness keeps You Sweet, Trials keep You Strong, Sorrows keep You Human, Failures keep You Humble, Success keeps You Glowing, But Only God keeps You Going! You are so special! Today is "Online Buddy Day ". Send this to your online friends – even me, if I\’m one of them – and see how many you get today.~~ Have A Fab Weekend Hugs …..L@ter!!!!!!Nikki

    Like

  19. Good Evening! I appreciate the visits, and the comments you have adorned my space with. With regards to your last one about me doing my best, to be honest, Brutus does not receive the attention or effort I lavish on my other corner of the blogosphere! I believe you have been there once! My alter ego is my favoured one! I\’m sure Toad will guide you there. Ask him for directions to Poopdeck Pappy\’s Place!! Brutus will be around for awhile longer, but not sure how long! See ya in Space! Poopdeck!

    Like

  20. Thanks for the comment, though I\’d return the favour. Really nice space you have here, Pictures are fantastic. Love the one of "the frozen apples". Keep up the awesome work.Sylvia

    Like

  21. Hey there! Thanks for the birthday wishes! Glad you liked my Remembrance Day layout.. I\’m trying to work something up for Xmas now! 😉

    Like

  22. Hello! Thanks for coming to my space, i know its very empty just now. I\’m not using it for poetry any longer. But here is where i do my writing. http://powersmile.net/silentI am happier there for my poems and my son owns the website, he made me my page and he keeps track of who is coming to visit. Its a nice secure site and i love it much for poems. Im just not sure what i will do with this space. I will figure it out in the new year most likely , when work isnt so busy. Thanks so much for the wonderful compliment. I appreciate it so much.~Lana

    Like

  23. Lorna Doone….hmmmmm….your husband\’s name wouldn\’t happen to be John Ridd, would it?? ;)You have some beautiful and very poetic and discriptive writing on your space; I enjoyed browsing! And thanks for stopping by my space and leaving a comment in my guestbook. It\’s like opening a present when I get a new comment because it gives me a new space to explore…I\’ll visit again!~~Angel~~

    Like

  24. Just passing thru. Talk to you later!! P.S. Am I the only Canadian (that doesn\’t ski or snowboard) that actually loves winter and misses how much snow we used to have as kids?

    Like

  25. Hello again. Yes, I\’m still alive, thank you. Sorry I haven\’t been around much. Constraints of time, demands of job, family and the rest of life, as well as the limitations of an antiquaited PC that has all the power of a Gameboy, I haven\’t been around my space much. I do wish to thank you for your comments and for checking up on me. I will try to be a bit more observant, though I tried last time and look how far that got me. Hope you\’re doing well and have a safe holiday season.Your CaptainFounder of the "Home for Wayward Jerry Lewis Impersonators"

    Like

  26. Very nice blog……..yes indeedy……..I shall return for a better read when it isn\’t so late and my eyelids aren\’t so heavy!

    Like

  27. Hiya, I was checking out some random blogs, and I came across your space. It\’s a cool site, keep up the good work. And if you are ever bored, feel free to drop by mine. All the best in 2006! nathan

    Like

  28. Greetings from not so sunny Saskatchewan! Just passing through and had to tell you I love your humble little abode in cyberspace! I will visit again soon!Cheers, DeborahP.S. Love Eliot…"only those who risk going too far can possibly find out how far one can go" … genius!!

    Like

  29. you have a beautiful site here – thanks so much for stopping to say hi at my space – I love your posts, as well as your pics – my daughter draws constantly, so I\’ll tell her to stop and see your artwork too…Missy

    Like

  30. I wanted to stop by and say your comment on Kay\’s site made me smile. I haven\’t heard from that woman because the place I was volunteering at was where she worked, and she was fired for putting mini-posters with profanities on them on her office walls.

    What a gal!

    Like

  31. I wrote that poem in 2002. Anyway, you asked if I\’m okay and I didn\’t really understand what you were refering too exactly, but I am fine. If it\’s in regards to the "friend" thing, we haven\’t talked since. I\’m not even sure if she has read what I wrote. Sometimes I walk by something in the house that she gave me, and I say "I can\’t believe she threw our friendship away like that" but most of the time it\’s fine because a real friend would have tried to make amends by now. Life is a struggle and I get frustrated very easily right now. I am trying to take time to get centered and balanced, but I am so short on time it seems. And most things are beyond my control . . . ie. how many times the kids decide to wake up in the night, what time Alicen decides to come out of her room and unexpected bills etc. I am happy with my family and my life, I just need to really work on me. I see the kids mimicing my anger when they get frustrated and that scares me. We were spanked as children. I don\’t spank, but in those times when I know I would have got a smack on the ass, I\’m so confused at what to do and I get more frustrated and I usually raise my voice and growl. I\’m working on controling my anger ASAP because I don\’t like what I see reflected in the kids. Anyway, should go. Hope you are having a great day. Thanks for being you. Your writing really helps me escape and reminds me to appreciate the little things in life. Well must go put on the "Wiggles" thanks to your sister, my daughter is obsessed. But that\’s okay because the songs are addicting!! Ciao!

    Like

  32. Hi, interesting site you got here, I think I\’ll enjoy coming back here every now and then, and oh thanks for visiting my site. 🙂

    Like

  33. Hey, finally I get back to your comment. Life is hard, but if some one asked me if I was really happy, I\’d have to say yes with a smile on my face. No matter how annoyed I get or how much I complain, I love Michael, my girls, my family and friends. I am a very blessed person. It seems however that even the luckiest of us (if you believe in luck) have to create some type of Drama in our lives. I do feel overwhelmed a lot and I hate that I think "things will get better when . . ." I want to be happy in the moment. It\’s just hard sometimes. Anyway, thanks for caring, it means a lot. I am doing well and am trying to work on myself to make things better. I realize though that I am expecting things to get better by me just focusing on me. And although I need to make sure that I do not spread myself so thin, I need to remember that the more you want out of life. . . the more you have to give. Maybe if I stop trying SO HARD to just fix me, and maybe focus on doing nice things for others, I will see some of the real beauty life has to offer, and I will feel more self-fulfillment. I\’ll keep you updated!!  I think I will use this comment in an entry on my space! Ciao for now!!

    Like

  34. I had to stop by and tell you while reading your comment on Patresa\’s blog on the 15th. I was LMAO!!  OMG – My husband on a few occasions has also dropped to the ground like he\’s been shot over pretty minuscule injuries – bumps at best.  It is so hard not to laugh.  They are the biggest babies sometimes, but then again, he can sustain a fairly bad injury and pretends as if he hardly notices the blood trickling onto the floor….go figure….
    -Heidi

    Like

  35. Very nice space.  Obviously created by someone both literate and intelligent, and someone who is trying to make great use of the potential we have here in virtual space.  Keep up the good work.

    Like

  36. @Ann
    Thanks for stopping by. I do really enjoy the opportunity to express myself in a public forum. The price is definitely right! =) It \’s been wonderful to discover how many quality people that are out there that have something intelligent and beautiful to say or to show.

    Like

  37. Thanks for the kind words on my photos.  I started My Space to show just my photos but then I couldn\’t stop with links and I found it interesting to see at the end how I had projected myself.  I really love your photos.  You are quite talented.  Keep it up.  I love photography.  It was a lovely day when I went to the Cumberland Heritage Museum.  That is just on the outskirts of Ottawa, here.  It\’s not a very well known museum and I rather like its humble charm.
     

    Like

  38. Hark!  What comes?  A guestbook for oddsandends?  How now, o\’ fairest?  It doth would seem I am but a tad late to be the first to prostrate themselves before the welcoming scrolls of your private literary heaven — a place that I perceive has become an earthly retreat of sorts for souls longing to reach their final rapture.  I prithee, wouldst thou have, or naught, of my humble visitation though it comes inexcusably late and woefully inadequate?  Good lady, I bow low before your grace with hat in hand.  Marcellus and I await your favour.
     
    P.S.  That last poem was just a crude experiment for me.  And yes, I would not be fully honest if I did not admit that that one line in the last stanza was not inspired by Frost. 🙂
     
     

    Like

  39. Hey whaddaya know, I had did signed the guestbook before.  I must be getting old… and forgetful.  Oh well, I got to practice my Fakespeare, and that\’s never a bad thing. 🙂  All the best from me to you.

    Like

  40. Again – I\’m coming from Patresa\’s site – and saw you lived near Lake erie.  Our family has 2 places on Catawba Island – ever heard of it?  Just curious – we love it up there.  Would love to live up there year round…..
    -Heidi 

    Like

  41. Hi & thanks for stopping by. Your space is really nice also i love all ur pictures. You\’ve worked hard on urs as well. Have a great day.

    Like

  42. I wanted to thank you for dropping by my space.  You have a nice site here.  I hope to see you coming around to my site and leaving your opinions, it looks like you can add a lot to a conversation.
     
    Cheers

    Like

  43. MEMORIES
     
    Here\’s the deal, leave one memory you and I had together as a COMMENT on my page–it doesn\’t matter if I know you a little or a lot, anything you remember!DON\’T write me, leave a comment! Next, repost this bulletin and see how many people leave a memory about you. Its actually pretty cool to see the responses!!Game on!

    Like

  44. L., I haven\’t been making my rounds as of late, though my wayfaring ebbs and flows from time to time.  However, this time I have noticed that I have been missing the always-beautiful and uplifting inspirations I always find here.
     
    Also, I couldn\’t help but notice that there is a new link to me on your list.  I find myself surprisingly at a loss for words.  I am most humbled m\’lady.  It is certainly an unexpected and assuredly undeserved honor.

    Like

  45. @Simon
    I have been lurking around in your thoughts for quite a while Simon as you well know. I thought it was time to confess my interest to the world…hence the link in my Who\’s Who. I had hoped that you wouldn\’t mind as I find you highly recommendable for all and sundry. =)

    Like

  46. thanks for the comments but not to sure about the \’search hits\’ ur talking about.
     
    And I\’ve always wondered how you\’ve come up with so much matiral and stuff to write…

    Like

  47. Hi!  I haven\’t been on line in a couple of days so when I decided to start "visiting" today I jumped into your space…. and found you haven\’t been on either.  I hope you\’re ok and your weekend is going beautifully.  We\’re a little bit rainy-drizzly here, but the temperature is perfect, the greenery is just stunning and so bold and shiny all of a sudden, and there are fields of bright yellow and golden yellow all over the place.

    Like

  48. ~*~*~*~ What an amazing writer you are ~*~*~*~* I look forward on the read *~*~*~You make it all so conforting and soothing…..such a calmness to it !! Takes my breath away !! 🙂

    Like

  49. Thanks for taking the time to drop by and visit my space–I too, still love Sunscreen from the first time I heard it. 
    Your page is an awesome read!
     
    Kendra

    Like

Leave a Reply

