A Measured Step

If man had never invented the measurement of a life’s span would we live forever?

 

 

 

 

 The heavy second hand is a thunderous roar. Its metered tone divides the time allotted; Neatly slicing and dissecting the portion doled out in minute particles that history will collect as a footnote in the summation of a life. No weight known to man is heavy enough to slow the tempo of truth. From the first breath to the last there is a schedule to be followed, estimated time of arrival and departure written in stone. Through out this scenic circular journey we march on parade to the chorus of time.

 

 

 

19 thoughts on “A Measured Step

  1. Gorgeous photos…My concept of time used to be fairly rigid – until I went to Italy and waited at the train station a few times. They have such a relaxed environment where train schedules are more like a suggestion.

    Like

  2. I think the concept of time is as old as the world itself. From the day when early man timed his life by sunrise or sunset, then by the season, then upto modern mans splitting down into fractions of the day that mean so little to almost everyone. Its something that cant be escaped. As for written in stone, tell that the the elderly gent who was on telly Rememberance Sunday, tell the man who survived 2 World Wars and is now 109 years old that life is set in stone. As for my confusion, its sorted now. And Id hate to be the one to poke or prod you! Craig xx

    Like

  3. Well what can one say about time. I believe in multiple universes going on at the same time. Past, present and future is right here in front of us but we are stuck in this realm. That is why we can occasionally see into the future and see entitires from other realities. I doubt they see us…Great pictures

    Like

  4. Lovely photos.And, mature thing that I am, I must add this:Had I taken the top photo, here\’s what would have happened. Immediately upon the shutter\’s snap, that damn Asian beetle-thing would have come to its senses, realized it had not yet found its way into my house for the winter, and hitched a ride home with me in my hair.Upon arrival at the house, beetle would have immediately flown off in that dizzy, circling, frantic way they have. He would locate his kinfolk, and the tale of psychological terror would continue.Ladybug, fly away home, my ass! It\’s all art, until it comes to me.But I digress.Lovely photos. Really.

    Like

  5. Just browsing thru Space Directories…takin’ a peek at cool titles! Yours is great!!!*·:*´¨`*:·..·:*´¨`* :·..·:*´¨`*:·..·:* (¯`v´¯)¤…Hi!♪ ♪ ♪ ♪ ♪ ♪ .`•.¸.•´ ¸.•´¸.•´¨) ¸.•*¨) (`\’·.You have a¸.·\’´) (`\’·.cool Space!!!¸.·\’´) ¸.·*)*¸.·´¨)*´¨)¸.·*¨) (¸.·(¸.·´ .·´¸¸.·´*´¨)~♥~~♥~~♥~Sxybeepsgt~♥~~♥~~♥~

    Like

  6. @IndigoItaly sounds lovely…I must confess my tardiness is legendary and I married a man who\’s no better…Most people are just glad that we show up at all ;/)@PoopdeckMuchos gracias El Gringo!@CraigAt night when the house is quiet and the only sound is the ticking of the clock on the wall time seems an implacable creeping horror. Sometimes it seems to me that everything is said and done, that I\’m only going through the motions…a hundred years from now everything that I am, all that I\’ve done, everyone that I care about will be gone. That is written in stone along with the epithets of all of us.God…now I\’m depressing myself -UghxL@CherylI\’ve always believed in the mythical and magical somewhere deep inside no matter what my logical mind might say. I must say I envy your strength and certainty in your world view. I seem to be floundering lately or maybe it\’s just that I\’m actually putting some real effort into trying to figure things out.@KaylolI accidentally ate a cousin of this particular bug last week…long story. Normally it wouldn\’t wait around for me either but I\’m sure it was quite happy to wait while I adjusted my f stop and ISO just as long as I didn\’t eat it as well. =P@ sxybeepsgt Thanks…great "tag" by the way@DawnGreetings to Singapore from Canada…thanks for stopping by.

    Like

  7. \’Dave\’ did reward me, one of the lads got a bowl out of the dishwasher and gave it to me, thinking it was clean. It was infact the bowl \’Dave\’ ws drinking out of and it hadnt been washed. So I had cat slobber in my curry. Nice. And Im fully aware that a bite can be good sometimes 😉 Craig xx

    Like

  8. So… I usually stop in and read just so my IQ can take a hit because you are SUCH a wonderful writer that it immediately changes my witty repartee to "monkey banging on keyboard"…Just wanted you to know I love reading your stuff and appreciate the comments.

    Like

  9. @CraigMmmm…cat slobber, lolXL@DaBigLeapTo quote my comment above "Mmmm…cat slobber" LOL yes that is terribly well written ;PJk…Thanks Bob and don\’t sell yourself short…you\’ve definitely got something going on over at your place and I\’m positive up to this point there have been no monkeys harmed in the creation and maintenance of your site.

    Like

  10. @JockUnworthy never! You are John Ridd, your Carver Doone gone beneath the mire and your bride wounded but safe. lolRe: The photo..it does look a bit like that doesn\’t it. 🙂

    Like

  11. you get the most beautiful sky pics. the sky outside my work today was gorgeous, it was gold w/blue showing through. i keep forgetting my camera.

    Like

  12. @JunquedujourIt probably sounds weird but I\’m most conscious of time lately when I have something in the microwave. The seconds it takes to zap something are actually the seconds of my life ticking away in mundane radioactive waves…lol and I accuse my son of being a drama queen ;P@AmyI try to take my camera everywhere with me because you never know

    Like

  13. @PatI love the ocean as well. I\’ve only seen it three times. The lovely picture above is actually Lake Erie…Who would have ever thought that grey sullen Lake Erie could look so beautiful?

    Like

Leave a Reply

