Enjoy The Day

"In the old days, it was not called the Holiday Season; the Christians called it ‘Christmas’ and went to church; the Jews called it ‘Hanukkah’ and went to synagogue; the atheists went to parties and drank.  People passing each other on the street would say ‘Merry Christmas!’ or ‘Happy Hanukkah!’  or (to the atheists) ‘Look out for the wall!’ "
 ~Dave Barry, "Christmas Shopping:  A Survivor’s Guide"
 
Wherever you are, what ever you’re doing, do it well and thoroughly enjoy yourself.
Best wishes to you all!
L =) 
36 thoughts on “Enjoy The Day

  1. Many thanks Craig. My wish for you is that the holiday season brings you joy and the New Year brings you blessings…and a new house, lol!Merry ChristmasxxLorna

    Like

  2. @DaBigLeapCome to visit the chilly north, lol? Hope it\’s not too warm for you out in SoCal. Thanks for the happy wishes, now go stuff yourself before the new regime starts!L

    Like

  3. We just finished our evening meal of rib roast, red potatoes, gravy, sweet potatoes made with apple cubes, brown sugar, a tad of orange juice, and real butter,jello salad with fruit in it, buns, cranberries, and and and….. We are full… and Christmas Day is ending with doing dishes, and Mr. G. watching the football game. We had snacky thingies and opened packages last night. It has been a beautiful sunny, 30 degree day here in Northwestern Colorado..and we still have plenty of snow on the ground. and once again a Merry Christmas to you and yours. hugs, lottiemae

    Like

  4. Lawd, that Dave Barry……Anyway, every time I come here, I want a cookie- even if I just ate every piece of candy in the house, I still want a Lorna Doone cookie *LAUGH*!

    Like

  5. manOman you got some serious undecorating to do there girl! I sure enjoyed the picture show tho – thanks! I hope your Christmas was filled with all the good and fun things — that would be food and family, right? ;^)

    Like

  6. "Hey! Welcome to the (expunged) Holiday show! Merry Christmas to all. Here\’s some Christmas classics."Happy holidays, and Merry Christmas. Having one defeats the purpose of the other. Stick with one or just play regular music! But yes, I am Christian.

    Like

  7. @JackLol I think you better lay off the egg nog or the caviar.I had my 4th Christmas dinner today. This one included a catholic grace and the lighting of a candle to commemorate the second day of Hanukkah for the menorah (or the more politically correct term of octet candle for those who prefer;D). Anyhow I\’m an eclectic celebrator by nature of an unusual collection of family and friends. Flexibility is a positive virtue in my world. =)@BrendaIt takes longer to put up than to take down…no lights to untangle! I am indeed just about holidayed out. Shopped a lot, ate too much, had the huge family fight and gained at least 5 pounds. Onwards and upwards, New Years Eve is on the way! ;P@KathrynlolShould I change my name then? I don\’t want to be responsible for the onset of a cookie addiction. =P@PatresaDave is da\’ bomb!Hope your holidays are as well!:)L@NeerOne day I could take…all this partying spread out over several days is what\’s killing me. Turkey, prime rib, homemade lasagna…I\’m so hard done by! lolHave you dug yourself out from under the piles of wrapping paper yet? =)@Lady DiMany thanks. :D@CherylWell I\’m thankful that the walls were kind enough to leave you alone! I haven\’t been to Christmas mass for years and I do miss it. It is always so lovely. I\’m glad your day was a good one. :)@LottiemaeLottie you ARE a girl after my own heart. I can smell your kitchen from here! It sounds like your day was perfect. Thanks for stopping byxxL

    Like

  8. LOL that was cute.I just sat and watched your pictures change for a little while.. beautiful! I know I sound like a broken record, but I could sit here all day… Happy New Year, take care..Julie

    Like

  9. @IndigoOuch…sorry I\’ve got a nasty goose egg…Damn walls! I\’ve lost track of the days myself (and the calories as well!). Hope yours was a good one. =)@MarcusSlainte…I\’m not sure about the spelling but it\’s the thought that counts. Right?@JulieYou know I don\’t think you sound like a broken record. I\’m often amazed by the beauty of the place I live in. I honestly can\’t claim any responsibility for it…it pretty much was like this when I arrived here.Happy Holidays!!!!!!!@PappyI\’m so glad your visit with your dad was a good one. I think you did the right thing. No regrets…seize the day. Have a good one!L

    Like

  10. Unlike you not to update yer space for so long! Its almost New Year so Ill wish you and yours a very Happy New Year, hope you have a great night and you stick to your resolutions! Craig xx

    Like

  11. @CraigI know I\’ve been a little neglectful of my site but in my defence I will say that I\’ve been otherwise occupied. The hubby is off work for a week. The stepson is in Florida. My son is at his dad\’s house for the holidays and the stepdaughter is mad at her dad (and as a result myself as well). So we have a whole house to ourselves full of food and booze with no one else but the dog to embarrass. It\’s been a very busy week. ;PHappy Holidays,xxxLorna@SimonThanks Simon.I wish you all the best in the new year as well.=)L

    Like

  12. @MarcusThanks Marcus. Although I am not a dark haired man and I can not cross your threshold with coal, shortbread, whisky, or silver I do wish you luck and happiness for the New Year as well. =)

    Like

  13. Hi Lorna,Great Post – Thanks for my laugh for today and Here\’s wishing you the greatest New Year. And many thanks for all your support last year.Sal

    Like

  14. Hey Lorna. Thanks for the message as ever. Up at 5pm and the PJ\’s on backwards? I dont wanna know! This time of year and your family are scattered over the American continent, not good at all. Hope whoever you missed is missing you. My body is rejecting its spirit in the form of heartburn, headaches and hangovers lol.thank god party season is almost over. I welcome regular weekend boozing now hehe. I reallly wish I was tea total… Well the New Year has come and gone so Ill leave you with a very best wishes for the forthcoming year, may you and your hubby become stronger and more in love, your family ties be reinforced, a big hug and kiss for you and a hearty handshake and best of British for the man in your life (in true English style). Im not homophobic by the way lol. Take care, Craig xx

    Like

  15. Hello Lorna…Wishing you a very Happy New Year…Take care…hope all that\’s good comes into your life this year…Pathttp://www.cardmaster.com/card/New%20Years/Flash%20Card/World_New_Years_Wish.swf

    Like

  16. I hope you\’re enjoying your alone time, despite the anger behind some of it…I find that the anger just fuels the whole idea of having fun — almost out of revenge.Anyway, I don\’t stop here often enough. I\’ll (unfortunately) have more time to travel around, though, because Sons #3 and 4 moved Sunday to Dad\’s for the next six months.It makes for a very UNhappy new year, darnit.I know YOU\’LL do all you can to make me happy. Baked goods, canned goods, cooked stuff… I\’m not fussy.Happy new year to you, Friend!~kp.s. A sister-in-law gave me the best-ever gift for Christmas: dilly beans. Apparently, they\’re just green beans from the garden, in dill and vinegar and garlic. But they\’re freaking awesome! I ate the entire (small, not quart or gallon or anything) jar in one sitting.Can you make those? Have you ever heard of them? I\’m considering asking the SIL for the recipe, in the pretense that I\’ll actually make them someday. They\’re THAT good.

    Like

  17. @NeerWell that looks interesting. I think I\’ll walk the plank and dive in. @KayI\’ve never made that but it sounds very similar to a dish my grandmother used to serve (actually my mother\’s third husband\’s mother to be exact) but she served it warm with potatoes. It was yummy. Unfortunately both mother and son have passed away so I have no recipe to pass on.I\’m sorry that #3 and #4 are on an extended visit. I know it is a difficult thing to wrap your head and your heart around. Have you heard from the one and only original Faterman? How goes the battle?I did enjoy having the hubby to myself but trying to dispose of a volume of Christmas goodies that was supposed to fill 3 teenagers over a two week period has just about left me senseless. Oh well you can only do so much. Right?Happy New Year Kay. I\’ll say a little prayer that things will look a little brighter for all your family as the year goes on!xxLorna@Faylol That wall is a doozie and despite what Dave Barrie has to say I can personally attest to the wall\’s denominational occurrence. It certainly dogged myself and all my neighbours this year!@PatresaThanks Patresa…Happy New Year to you as well. I hope that January brings a little bit of a break to the stress and gloom that seems to be shadowing your days as of late.=)@PatThank you Pat and may I wish you many happy returns of the season as well. Cute card!@ErinSame to you! Though I\’m not sure the best way to start out a year is with a federal election. ;P Is it crazy in your neck of the woods or is it just business as usual?@Craiglol You do make me laugh and I know exactly how you\’re feeling. My body has pretty much told me that enough is enough ( I don\’t even want to know what the scale has to say). Thanks for the lovely thoughts and wishes. I hope your year is filled with all the best!XXXXXLorna @SalBest wishes to you as well. I\’m looking forward to seeing what the new year brings all of us here on spaces! Who knows…November is only 11 months away. Any new Nano ideas? lol@JadeDitto =)

    Like

Leave a Reply

