Fireworks

This past span of three days marked the holiday long weekend known as the Victoria Day Weekend or May Two-Four here in Canada. Traditionally honouring Queen Victoria’s birthday or more recently Queen Elizabeth’s (the actual date of which I have no idea) this holiday, celebrated on the Monday of or before the 24th of May, is the unofficial beginning of the summer season up here in the Great White North. The term May "two-four" weekend has been coined most recently in reference to the association of drinking (a case of beer having 24 or “two-four” bottles enclosed) rather than the actually date of occurrence which changes from year to year.

     Regardless the May 2-4 weekend can usually be counted on for alcohol, fireworks and, if you are a “fashionista” here in Canada, the all clear for wearing white shoes and white pants from now until Labour Day. This particular holiday weekend is also known for cold and/or rainy weather and this past weekend did not disappoint. The wind was wild and chilly, the sun was intermittent and the only thing lacking was the usual downpour. The post-holiday tradition also continues as the weather forecast following the holiday weekend (that must now be enjoyed from inside the workweek office) is summer warm.

     Locally the holiday was marked by a guided tour of the Spicer Trail. The tour heralds a new movement to encourage tourism and historic enrichment in the area. (Next weekend promises to be even busier with a live history weekend at the Backus/Page House presented by the local dramatic society and the T.H.S and the commencement of a number of shunpikers to get everyone out and about.) Spreading out from the nucleus that forms the base of my hamlet, various Optimist and Kinsmen clubs offered the promise of firework delights that, due to the high winds, had to be delayed until the climate was agreeable. Not to worry though, despite the uncooperative weather, there is still a pageant on display. As the season changes from spring to summer, the yard presents its own fireworks.  

     The first blooms of the year are flaming out in brilliant shades, brief flashes of colour across the expanse of the yard. They will in turn be followed by even greater displays of light and colour until the final climax of fall’s glamorous golden and rusted flares. Here every explosion, every bloom, is appreciated and exclaimed over, an intricate part of the beautiful whole.

     The meadowlark, a shocking yellow, is a curious cat that peers a lopsided one eye through the window screen, watching us watching him. The humming bird, mouse grey and lavender, hovers on invisible wings above bunches of saffron blooms until the wind rings the chimes and sends him off in search of a quieter meal. Everywhere the air tastes like lilac, apple blossom and lily of the valley. All this is here now and with the promise of the long summer days just on the horizon and the magic of fall too far off yet to imagine…Really, I think fireworks might actually pale in comparison.

 

      

 

 

21 thoughts on “Fireworks

  1. How beautifully you describe the commencement of Summer!  The strongest memories I have of the air "tasting" of anything are first, in Puerto Rico… the air tastes of spices and flowers mixed together… just walking around the small town where my family has a home is like going to a buffet.  The air tastes of citrus fruit from the trees growing in almost every yard, the freshly blooming flowers dripping off every balcony and peeping out of every porch, and the scents of arroz amarillo and marinating meats wafting out of every window.  The second place I rember smelling so good you could taste the air was in New Orleans… the air was spicier there, it almost had a bite to it, and the smell of seafood cooking was incredibly tantalizing where ever we went.

    Like

  2. Oh beautiful flowers.  I was out taking some this morning and put a few in my photoalbum after Grandfather Sun made his appearance. 

    Like

  3. thanks for teaching me about the holiday.
    The pictures are beautiful!  Very few of my shots come out that clear. 

    Like

  4. Ah the start of yet another season . I also enjoy the days from now until shingles no longer seal overnight . Plants will be smashed down and walked upon until fall ….. Sorry I do try to be careful but when it boils down I am a Toad . Beautiful pics Lorna !!

    Like

  5. Hellooo Lorna (waves) Back home now, and thanks for checking up on me lol, reassuring to know someone cares 😉
    2-4 day? Just get a few 40 ounces in, no need for 24 bottles lol. And Nice to know you have the same over there, gloom, rain and wind. My garden is full of nothing but dandilions and other asociated weedy flora. And ive not even got any grass !! Go figure.
     Liking the white trousers and shoes idea, not very practical though is it? 
     Speak soon and Ill be checking up too 😉 Craig xxx

    Like

  6. I don\’t put up hummingbird feeders out here in the Ozarks. But I had 2 of them in California — those are some feisty territorial and MEAN little fowl. Nothing like watching a good fight in the neighborhood first thing in the morning — it\’s that voyeur thing in me ;^)

    Like

  7. @Edie
    Well I\’ve never been to Puerto Rico but I\’ve been to New Orleans and I can definitely say I agree with you there… though I found it a place of extremes in both presence and aroma. =)
     
    @Cheryl
    The sun was tempered by a cold wind this past weekend up this way. I had blocks of ice for feet. I\’ll see if my connection is a compassionate one tonight and if it will allow me to load in your flower pictures. I would love to see them!
     
    @Kat
    I take a lot of pictures and most of them don\’t turn out. Trust me I\’ve got a ton that will never see the light of day. Do you have a similar holiday weekend in the States that heralds the beginning of the summer season?
     
    @Sal
    It\’s spring time in the garden…I think everything is a little Georgia O\’Keeffe right now. ;P
     
     
     @Indie
    I\’m a "hard liquor" connoisseur myself. If I was to consume a 2-4 or even a 1-2, I\’d be in serious trouble!
     
    @Toad
    I don\’t recall the local toads smashing any plants in my garden…perhaps you are a vastly different breed, I would imagine you most likely don\’t eat ants and flies as well ;P. How are the injured triple digits?
     
    @Craig
    Big wave and a hug to boot (not a hug for your boot just to clarify). Without actual grass you might be grateful to the dandelions for adding a bit of colour to your otherwise uninhabited sod-less yard. I have hostas coming out of the …well coming out of everywhere! Maybe it\’s time for weed, seed and feed..if not, mulch away. How about some pictures of the yard to see what\’s what and where you\’re going with it?
    xxx
    Lorna
     
    @Brenda
    As long as you\’re not taking bets on the results I think that a little bird voyeurism is to be expected under the circumstances.
    ;P
     
    @Melissa
    The best shows are the ones you don\’t have to pay for! =)
     

    Like

  8. Lovely photos!
     
    I am hoping to visit Canada sometime within the year, not sure if I will e able to — but I will be near that area sometime within the year..and have never been…always wanted to visit Canada

    Like

  9.  
    I\’m not so good at floral identification (I know two kinds of flowers: one\’s a rose, the other one isn\’t), but are the little white fellas at the bottom lilies of the valley? So delicate.
     
    Also, is the purple thing an iris?
     
    And what is that bright red/yellow thing? That\’s gorgeous!
     
    It\’s been hatefully windy here lately; wind makes EVERYthing worse — except the kite-flying.
     
    And me, without a kite.
     

    Like

  10. Thanks so much for your visit, and for liking my pic… that\’s me at La Jolla, San Diego, CA, holding my littlest nephew… he\’s soooo cute!  It was his first trip to the ocean.
     
    Don\’t worry… I won\’t "make" you play… if you want to, you can have the letter "R".  🙂

    Like

  11. Ah yes, the curse of the long weekend weather in Canada!  Our long weekend had the same turnout.  Friday night, clouds up, Saturday, cloudy and cool, windy.  Sunday:  Gale forced winds blow us around the deck of our friends cottage at the lake.  Monday +31 and bright sunshine (always the case on the last day of a long weekend).  I was able to enjoy that one nice day though.  Back the dreary, wet, cool weather for the week.  Apparently, we should expect this for the next several days!  I don\’t know how people on the coast do it!  We live in the province that gets the most sunshine, I\’m just not used to cloud, rain, and dreary.
     
    Thanks for, yet again, a fantastically written blog.  Well done!

    Like

  12. @Kathryn
    Canada is one of those places that holds a variety of charms depending on your taste. Coastal mountains to the west (you can ski in the summer =)), then the flatness of the central plains (complete with cowboys and rodeos), followed by hills of farmland and orchards rolling on to the metropolitan and cultural melange that ends in an embrace of the salt brogues of the east coast. And all of it is adorned by a crown of taiga shield and polar gems. You probably won\’t find anywhere else that feels so much like home and so foreign at the same time. If you get the chance you should come…if you know what you like, you can be sure to find it somewhere up here, LOL. =)
    Lorna
     
    @Pomegranate Kay Flower of the Windy Seas
    I do have tonnes of Lily of the Valley but I didn\’t post any pictures of them. The bottom photo is Solomons Seal. In the fall those flowers will have turned into berries that look like actual golden balls. 
    I\’m not sure about the small purple flower. I think it belongs to the wild pansy/viola family (violaceae). I have several different varieties of it growing randomly on my lawn.
    The white flower is a trillium. The white trillium is the official flower of Ontario and you can find it growing wild in the woods this time of year. There is an actual trillium tour that you can take through the area from mid April to around the end of May. I have both white and pink trillium growing in my gardens.
    The top picture is the interior of a tulip. My mother gave me the bulbs. She volunteers for the Parkinsons Society and when the did their bulb sale last year she bought my sister and I a couple of bags.
     
    OOOOOOOOO – Too exciting lol!
     
    I don\’t think you need a kite to fly Kay…just spread your wings. I\’ll keep an eye on the sky so I can wave you down when you pass over. We\’ll have a cup o tea and you can meet my dog (cuz she thinks everyone who comes here has come to meet her) and we can walk in the garden. =)
     
    @Edie
    "R"righty then..that\’s my contribution. ;P
    And your nephew is just TOO CUTE. You both obviously have a great relationship. You can feel the love radiating out!
     
    @LadyDi
    Ahhhh Ontario weather…if you don\’t like it wait 5 minutes and it will change! lol
     
     

    Like

  13. Aaah Lorna, my yard. Imagine an inner city plot, approx 10 foot by 8, thats my garden. Its got a herbacious border and a few shrubs but on the whole gravel and stone. The way I like it 🙂 No need for any sort of mower here! Craig xxx

    Like

  14. @Craig
    GRAVEL AND STONE?…oh la my heart is breaking…where is your English garden full of ivy and roses????? LOL
    L
    XOX

    Like

  15. Lol Lorna, if I lived in the country (in a house that would have garages to accomodate my large car collection) Id love a large English country garden, sadly Im not Brewster nor do I have his millions so what I got will have to do! Decking anyone? Craig xxx

    Like

  16. ahhh break out the 2-4\’s.. i\’ve got the white pants, shoes and the frosty mugs all ready to go!
     
    breathtaking photos!
     

    Like

Leave a Reply

