Drawing Tales

I don’t have photo studio equipment or even a light box so when I want to shoot my art work I wait for a day when the daylight is conducive to getting the best shots possible. I usually shoot in the backyard with my Canon Rebel XTi on a tripod and my work on an easel.  It’s not a fancy setup as you can see in this picture.

I set my easel up on the back patio to take advantage of the daylight.
My easel is set up on the back patio to take advantage of the afternoon light.

I’m getting to the end of an old sketch book and last week I decided to commemorate its place in my journey by posting some photos of the contents on my art blog ( you can check that out here if you’d like http://milosivanskistudio.wordpress.com/2013/06/13/sketch-book-selections/ ). As I had already set up my easel I decided to take a couple of pictures of two of my larger sketchbooks. I use different sketchbooks for different reasons. The one I’ll soon be retiring is small enough for me to carry around with me and I use it as the occasion arises. When I’m in studio I have a tendency to work in a larger format.

This drawing was inspired by a Shel Silverstein illustration
This drawing was inspired by a Shel Silverstein illustration
You may have notice by now, dear viewer, that I enjoy drawing flowers.
You may have notice by now, dear viewer, that I enjoy drawing flowers.

I often use drawings to explore ideas for projects such as these props that were used at a variety show put on by a local theater group I volunteer for. A limited budget required ingenuity so the final props were made out of used boxes I picked up for free at the local liquor store.

These were the original drawings I presented to the board for a variety show skit.
These were the original drawings I presented to the board for a variety show skit.
This was the realization of the drawings as props. They decided to only use 4 of the designs. In these photos you can see the lines from the boxes I used but they weren't noticeable when the props were used during the production.
This was the realization of the drawings as props. The director decided to include 4 of the designs. In these photos you can see the lines from the boxes I used but they weren’t that noticeable when the props were on stage during the production.

Sometimes the drawing process is a little less straight forward. I found a photograph I liked in a gardening magazine and used it as resource for a painting.  I then used that painting as inspiration for a drawing.

I took the details from a photo I admired and interpreted them in acrylic
I took the details from a photo I admired and interpreted them in acrylic.
I took the image one step further from the original inspiration and interpreted it as a sketch
I took the image even one step further from the source and realized it as a sketch.

I’ve often heard people lament their drawing skills by saying they can’t draw a straight line. To me that seems like the strangest thing to say. I draw all the time. If I’m not using a sketchbook I’m doodling in the margins of the newspaper or on the lined piece of paper I’m supposed to be taking notes on. I’d be hard pressed to think of a single time that I have ever required a straight line for anything I’ve rendered.

The link for this post is to an old television show about drawing I would watch when I was very young. The quality is not good but perhaps some of you might remember it. Simon in the Land of Chalk Drawings 

2 thoughts on “Drawing Tales

  1. Wow, love your drawing too! You are super talented. The bird on the purple flowers is sooo beautiful. Also love the girl with the flower hair. I am in awe of people who can draw / paint. I am one of those who can’t draw a straight line…Let’s see more!

    Like

    • Thank you so much. It’s lovely to receive positive feedback on something that you love to do. When I’m creating I feel apart from the things that weigh me down elsewhere. I’ve been blogging on and off for several years (words and photos) but I recently started an art blog so I’ll be posting more things there as I go along. With the exception of commissions and commercial work I’ve had to put art pretty much on the back burner for several years but I’m making a move to bring my own work back as the focus of my efforts. YOU should draw all the squiggly lines you can. In my experience there’s not much in life that follows the straight and narrow.

      Like

Leave a Reply

